I Deserve a Break Today…

This one is kind of stream of consciousness-y…

It was so nice to sleep in today.

Let me be upfront: I am a night person. So all these early mornings requiring critical thinking before the sun is properly up just seems wrong to me. Before school started, it was nothing for me to stay up until 0200 or even 0400 reading a book or watching an entire season of something on Netflix, because I knew I could, with earplugs, sleep through the morning. So this being on campus by 0730 is kinda kicking my butt. And 0645 for clinical? I’m glad my instructor is very understanding. I’ll be there, on time, in uniform, and looking tidy, but my brain won’t be online for like another hour. And it’s our psychiatric rotation. The patients aren’t even awake at that hour! But they keep saying, “This is what it will be like when you’re working. You need to be ontime for AM report!” Umm, not if I’m looking forward to 2100 to 0700 or 2300 to 0700. I intend to be the one giving report in the morning!

When I grow up, I want to design a nursing program for people like me – people who want to work evening and night shifts. People with an aversion to daylight. Vampire Nursing Academy.

Anyway, I decided that Saturday would be my day off. I was raised as a Seventh-day Adventist, and our Sabbath is from Friday night at sunset to Saturday night at sunset. In it we shall not do any work. God, through his prophet Moses, told me not to study on Saturday, so I’m not going to. I think He kind of hoped I’d show up for church, but…

 

image

Today I worshiped at St Mattress. Pastor Sheets and Deacon Pillow conducted a beautiful service.

 

Anyway, if this first week of the RN program was any indication, this term is going to be a real grind. Taking care of myself is going to be crucial to my survival. (Check out my previous post about self-care.)

I don’t feel the least bit of guilt about it because I need this.

5 responses to “I Deserve a Break Today…

  1. As a fellow night owl, I second that Vampire Nursing Academy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rise and Grind… Every. Damn. Day. [One shot. One kill]….. You got this, girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. SO with you on the morning thing! And I laughed out loud at St. Mattress, Pastor Sheets and Deacon Pillow (oh how I miss them!).

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful insight and humor with us. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

